WOD April 20 and follow up on Whole30 challenge


My days off are my training days and usually then I have to plan my food much more than usual, especially now that I am do Whole30 challenge and can’t use protein powder and dairy (cottage cheese with berries in the morning used to be my source of proteins), soI start feeling a bit low in motivation as I get bored of having omelet for breakfast or smoothie (that’s if I don’t have training before as pre-workout meal has to be proteins and fats). I wasn’t feeling that well this morning and I had CF training at 9a.m., and I felt really tempted just to stay in bed and chill out…but I just could not. So, instead of whining I decided to have avocado devilled eggs for breakfast as my pre-workout meal. The are super delicious and easy to make. For the recipe you will need (however I made only half of the amount, because Keven still would not eat boiled egg):

Cut boiled eggs in half lengthwise and carefully scoop out yolks. Mash yolks with a fork. Stir in diced avocados, mayonnaise, lemon juice, garlic powder, and cayenne pepper. Fill egg whites with yolk mixture and place on a serving plate. Sprinkle with cayenne or fresh, chopped parsley, add salt and pepper to taste. So that made my pre-workout meal all by the book.

I accompanied that with cup of unsweetened coffee with coconut milk. As I knew that I will do challenge I started a week before to make myself get used of drinking unsweetened coffee as I have never done that in my life, so I really wanted to take it step by step instead of jumping into the strict diet.

After having a training it is advised to have a post-workout meal within 15-45mins. after workout, so I had to prep to take something to the gym as I definitely would not make home in that time. The post-workout meal consists of easily digestible proteins and high density carbs (no fruits). That fruits are not allowed put me again into dilemma. Last time I had salmon with baked sweet potatoes (yummy), today I decided to stick to egg white omelet with sautéed bok choy and mushrooms and some fresh cherry tomatoes.

20120420-232439.jpg

I also had to prepare my lunch box, because I did not plan to come back home until evening. After Crossfit I hit to climbing gym and after that I had to pick up a Alexis (little boy that I occasionally babysit) from nursery and take him home, so I got home just for dinner.

So, my lunch box consisted of tuna salad (I love tuna):

  • can of tuna20120420-232426.jpg1/2 apple diced
  • some chopped parsley
  • 5 chopped pecans and walnuts
  • 1/2 diced avocado (used the other half left from devilled eggs :) )
  • 1 tsp mustard
  • 1 tbsp paleo mayo
  • 1 tsp apple sider vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Place apples, scallion tops, nuts, and celery in a medium-sized bowl. Mix well. Drain liquid from tuna and add tuna to the boil. Mash with a fork to break up tuna and blend ingredients. Add mustard and mayo, then mix with a rubber spatula until well-blended. If you can stand it, let the tuna salad sit for 15 minutes so the flavors can meld.

I just did not mix them at home and mixed in climbing gym and ate right away. I think they had enough time to mix being in tupperware :)

So, my todays WOD was:
Tabata challenge 8rounds (20sec. on/10sec.of) of the following:

  • Pull-ups (chin to bar)
  • Power press (65lbs)
  • Kettlebell swing – 35 lbs
  • burpee box jump
  • ring push-ups

we had to submit the total score of repetitions made and mine was 232.

My palms were really sore ofter KB swings and in climbing gym muzzle exploded.

So, after my Crossfit training I went to climbing gym. Last time I was there on Sunday and felt totally out of motivation. maybe because I am progressing slowly and I don’t like too much when there are a lot of people around me. Today I was lucky, there were only 5 people in whole gym, so I could just climb and relax. I made some nice stretching and did not push myself to climb hard, simply work on the movements and technique, climbing difficult routes and really easy ones. So, I had really nice climbing session of 1.5 hour until skin on my finger tips got really sore and it meant that it’s time to finish. So, I had my tuna salad with blackberries for a dessert. However, I also grabbed a banana on my way to nursery, because I felt that I need more carbs than I got with salad and berries, bouldering is really energy consuming activity.

My day finished with oven roasted chicken and sweet potato chips with little salad. And I allowed myself to indulge into cashew butter. I know that I am not supposed to do that, but I was craving for more fats :))))

One thought on “WOD April 20 and follow up on Whole30 challenge

  1. Pingback: WOD 15th June « Following Myself

Leave a Reply

