Sunday tradition adaptations


As I already wrote on Sundays we always have friends coming over to have brunch with us and most of
the times it consists of pancakes. Since I started to change my way of eating there were all different type of pancakes, most of them with oat flour (the ones with oat flour and ricotta were actually amazing), also with soya flour (I also made pizza base couple times with soya flour). However, as I was finishing to use up all those products and turning more and more paleo, my way of eating also changed. Last Sunday I was making pale pancakes with coconut flour, they were really delicious, but then on Monday I started my Whole30 challenge and such a thing as Paleo pancakes are not allowed. It is not that they would be bad, they are nutritious and healthy, however, it is still comfort food and point of the challenge is also challenge yourself psychologically. I have to admit that I do face difficulties (I would like to have slice of cheese and cottage cheese with berries in the morning) and Sugar Dragon is really attacking me (oh….sweet chocolate and all the nice treats…) and oh how much I would wish to have a nice glass of red wine, but none is allowed, so I just stick to what I have and just think about the end result and about my body being all clean and my taste receptors able to detect natural sugar in fruits and vegetables…Having said that, I still have Sunday brunch and today I decided not to think too much and make for everyone crepes with regular flour. Why? Because we still have them and we need to use them, so Keven was a cook this time :) For myself I just had egg white crepes (1 crepe requires 1/3 cup of egg whites with pinch of salt and vanilla extract. then just pour mixture in pan with some fat, in my case it was ghee and wait until egg white is all done). I could not decide whether I want sweet or savoury, so I decided to have both, because I felt that eating just fruit would not be best idea in the world. So my savoury crepe had guacamole, chicken and cauliflower from yesterday dinner and some indian curry sauce. That was really good and I could not actually make that much difference between only egg white crepe and regular crepe. The second one was a dessert one, so it had almond butter and cut fruits in it (apple, pear, banana and raspberries). So, while my husband and friends indulged themselves in crepes with Nutella, I simply enjoyed my version with a cup of coffee with coconut milk. It was much less awkward than I would have though and I did not feel any less fortunate than them…

 

Leave a Reply

