paleo snacks


Couple days ago I was trying some new recipes and making my favourite ones. I have to say that I am very proud of my husband who sticks to Paleo 90% and is not eating anymore bread (his staple breakfast since we met and probably long  before was white bread with nutella or peanut butter) and basically eats all the time the same as I do. So, now his lunch box usually is raw vegetables, nuts and sauce. I found this amazing recipe for sauce that we both love, even though it is not that aesthetically attractive, it tastes amazing and it holds for about a week in the fridge, maybe longer 🙂 Anyhow, I use it as a sauce for nearly all my proteins. I took it from Melissa’s website and it is called South Indian Curry:

Ingredients:
2 medium jalapeno peppers, seeds removed (I did not have jalapeños, so simply replaced it by 2 tsp of cayenne pepper)
4 tablespoons unsweetened, dried, shredded coconut
2 tsp. ground coriander
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 1/2 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 clove garlic, crushed
4 tablespoons water
2 medium carrots, minced or grated
4 medium tomatoes, diced
1/2 cup coconut milk

Directions:
1. Place the following ingredients in a food processor and puree to a fragrant paste: jalapeno peppers, coconut, coriander, salt, cinnamon, cumin, ginger, garlic, water.

2. Stir the coconut milk into the spice paste and set aside.

3. Heat a skillet to medium-high, melt some coconut oil, then add carrots and tomatoes. Sautée until the carrots are tender, about 10 minutes.

4. Stir in the sauce, reduce heat to low, and simmer about 5 minutes.

Next sauce to make from Melissa’s website on my list would be Sunshine Sauce.  I plan to make it later today. It sounds so delicious that I can’t wait to try it:

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons lime juice
1 clove garlic, minced (about 1 teaspoon)
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 tablespoon coconut aminos ( I don’t have that so will simply replace by salt and water. Somehow I haven’t found aminos anywhere around Quebec, so if someone from Quebec knows where to buy it, please tell me 🙂 )
1/4 teaspoon powdered ginger
1/2 teaspoon rice vinegar
1/4 cup sunflower seed butter (I like Sunbutter; no sugar added)
dash ground cayenne pepper (optional)
1/4 cup coconut milk

Directions:
1. Place all the ingredients except the coconut milk in the bowl of a food processor and whirl until well blended.Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber scraper, then add the coconut milk. Process until it’s blended and smooth. Store covered in the fridge.

I can’t even tell you how much more hard it would be to go through my challenge without these amazing sauces and how grateful I am to Melissa for them. It makes life so much easier :)))

I eat avocado probably everyday now, because I need much more fats since carb intake is low with pale diet. Yesterday I was making egg scramble with pear and avocado for breakfast. That is one thing that I would not have though of, but I have seen it on the food list of http://paleocomfortfoods.com/ and even though they did not give recipe I decided to give a try and actually I was surprised with nice result:

  • 1 egg + 1/3 cup of egg whites
  • 1 pear (diced)
  • 1/2 avocado (sliced)
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • cinnamon
  • blackberries

Directions: Melt oil in the pan. Add pears and fry them until they get some brown colour. Add avocados and trite together. Sprinkle with cinnamon. Once avocado gets a bit mushier and agg and whites. Fry mixing a bit until its done. Serve with blackberries on the top. 

So, I think I was surprised because it tasted really good and I ddi not think that it would work with egg. But then I remembered that this Sunday I was making “crepes” from egg white only and then added fruits to it. And I actually could not make that much difference. So, probably it is all just a matter of what combinations we are used to.

And finally, my new snack!!! Cale chips! I wanted to try them since I saw a recipe on whole30 guidebook but couldn’t find the organic one for a while and non organic wouldn’t be very good as it is considered “dirty vegetable”. There is a great vegetable shopping guide here that helps to solve a problem where to save money not going organic 🙂

Kale chips

  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted and divided
  • 1 tbsp apple vinegar
  • 1tsp mustard powder ( I did not measure, just sprinkled a little)
  • 1 pinch of salt to taste

Preheat oven to 300F. Cut away the thickest part of stea of each kale leaf and discard. (I have a bad in my freezer that I put discarded vegetable parts to make a stock later on, so it went to the bag 🙂 ) Tear the leaves into large peaces of uniform size. Put the kale peaces into a rage bowl. Add about half of melted coconut oil. mix by hand, so that oil gets evenly distributed on the kale pieces. Add the remaining oil and mix again, until all kale pieces are evenly coated with oil and slightly “massaged”. Sprinkle the vinegar over the kale leaves, mix one last time. Spread leaves baked evenly onto baking sheet. Roast in preheated oven until mostly crisp, 20-30 mins. Sprinkle with mustard powder and salt, allow to cool in open air so they don’t get soggy. 

So, I followed all the instructions and I really liked it. Keven was hesitant to try as his best friend hates kale chips (I think that his girlfriend puts too much mustard powder, because he was complaining about bitterness), but eventually he tried and liked it. He said that it has some aftertaste that reminds regular chips 🙂

haven’t done any workout since Tuesday. Still feeling sick and dizzy. But, I have spend at least 2 hours everyday walking, that is still kind of workout. Let’s see how I’m gonna feel for tomorrow CF class as today I have enormous headache, no idea from what.

 

2 thoughts on “paleo snacks

    • they are really good. I also made today the Sunshine sauce and it is amazing, even though I did not have aminos:) honestly… However, if you are not paleo, just put soya sauce 🙂

Leave a Reply

