Books “Whining and Dinning” & “Vegetables”


I love taking books from library and checking them out to see if I find something that would interest me. I took book “Whining and Dinning” not so much for myself as for the family I work with as they have two girls and I wanted introduce them to a bit more healthy eating than Kraft dinner and frozen salmon pie. Don’t take me wrong but when people say that they eat not good food because they could not eat healthy because of the kids, it takes my breath away. Kids know nothing about food and they just experience different tastes and if you introduce them to artificial flavours just because you decide that you don’t want to spend time cooking, then don’t blame the kids afterwards, but blame yourself. Anyhow, since I started my Whole30 challenge I have been making sometimes dishes for them, but usually I can’t taste them, because they are all of the ingredients that are in my “NO” list, so I was glad that I could pick up some nice and easy recipes from this book and could actually taste it. By far my favourite would be:

Green beans with Pecans and brown butter 

  • 10 oz green beans, stem ends removed and halved
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter (I replace it my whole30 friendly fat, such as ghee or coconut oil)
  • 1/4 cup pecan halves (slivered almonds work erectly though)
  • salt
  • 1 tsp chopped fresh parsley

Boil salted water and blanch beans for 3 mins or until tender crisp. Drain. Heat fat in pan over medium-low heat until it begins to turn golden, 2-3 mins. Add pecans, stirring to coat in butter; sauté for 2 mins. or until fragrant and toasted. Add blanked beans to pan and toss to coat in butter. Season with salt and sprinkle with parsley (if using).

Super easy and delicious.

All in all this book is definitely worth to look at because they offer very easy to make and healthier versions of comfort food and not only. I especially like their recipes with vegetables. So, my plan to make from this book would be: Rack of Lamb, Broccoli Redux, Quick Dark Green Saute, Garlic Roasted Carrots, Confetti Power Slaw, Sesame Cucumber Salad, Mushroom and Spinach Frittata.

I also took from library this book called “Cook’s Own: Vegetables”. But I it wasn’t that good as most of the
recipes are made to be eaten with pasta or rice or some other carbs, rather than proteins, which would be my choice. But I did find some recipes on beet, spinach, carrots, some soups and few sauces that I plan to try and see if they are worth to be memorized. It is definitely not a book that I would be buying, so I am grateful of having an opportunity to check and take book from library before I decide to invest in them. I haven’t tried any of the recipes from that book yet as I did not get particularly excited about any of them so much that I could not wait to try it out.

One thought on “Books “Whining and Dinning” & “Vegetables”

  1. Pingback: crunchy vegetable slaw « Foodie Joanie

Leave a Reply

