Broccoli pancakes (fritters) and breakfast sausages


Some time ago I found this recipe for broccoli fritters that used broccoli stems as a base and I have been planning to make it for weeks now, so I was saving all the stems of broccoli for those fritters. The original recipe belongs to Juli from PaleOMG, though I modified it a bit. These fritters are so good that I could not stop eating them…I have to say that only with third batch in pan I finally understood what size they should be so that they would not break into parts, so don’t get frustrated while trying, their taste one way or another is still amazing. Seriously…amazing…

Ingredients:

  • 10-14 broccoli stems (shredded with food processor or grated) 
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cup of almond meal (I used 1 cup of almond meal and 3/4 cup of almond flour)
  • 1/4 cup of flaxseed meal
  • 1 onion (diced)
  • 1 tbsp of garlic (minced)
  • quite a lot of salt and pepper as broccoli absorbs a lot. (to taste)

Mix all ingredients together. It should hold together. Place in heated pan with some fat with a help of spoon. I discovered that best size is spoon size as it makes it much easier to flip it. fry for 3-4 mins. before flipping (it should be browned). Cook about the same time on the other side.

It makes quite a lot of them, but it is amazing dish for breakfast and to have as a snack. I had to stop myself eating them and Keven was laughing at me, saying that I am making such a big sin by eating broccoli :))))

As I have my new Paleo Comfort Food cookbook, I decided to make a recipe for minced pork to go together with broccoli pancakes. It is called breakfast sausages:

Ingredients: 

  • 1 pound of ground pork
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 3/4 tsp of pepper
  • 2 tsp of fresh sage leaves (finely chopped)(I did not have fresh herbs, therefore I reduced the amount in half for dried herbs.)
  • 1 tsp fresh thyme
  • 1/4 tsp fresh rosemary
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp crushed pepper red flakes

Mix all ingredients in bowl. From 2 inch-wide patties. Heat skillet over medium heat , cook until browned or cooked through both sides.

 

 

Leave a Reply

