Banana pudding aka Paleo Ice Cream


I have been craving for ice cream lately, especially because it was really hot this weekend and everyone around were really enjoying ice creams all around me and it was hard to resist. However, going to the shop and buying one was not working for me as I could not see any organic (not sure if it’s better, should check labels) and when I looked at the consistence of all the other, I just had to put it back. I know it would not kill me, but somehow I really don’t feel like putting ingredients that I don’t know in my body and it would make me feel bad psychologically and remove all the pleasure of eating. I checked on internet for some ice cream recipes and though I could find some, it involved  either ice cream machine that I don’t have or lots of mixing every hour or so. I don’t have patience for that, so simply decided to go with banana pudding recipe from Paleo Comfort Foods book, especially as they even recommended to have it frozen as it reminds ice cream.

Banana Pudding

  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 2 large egg yolks (organic preferably)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 3 really ripe bananas (very important, because then they are softest and sweetest. If you don’t have, wait until it will ripen or you will miss all the point)
  • 1/2 tsp of cinnamon

Whisk coconut milk, egg yolks and vanilla over medium heat. Stir constantly until mixture starts to thicken, then set aside. In small frying pan heat coconut oil over medium heat and add slightly mashed bananas along with cinnamon. Cook until banana will start somewhat caramelize. Pour coconut milk and egg mixture along with bananas into food processor or blender and process until smooth. Pour content into a bowl and place a layer of plastic wrap directly on surface. Refrigerate to serve. As I was experimenting, I divided the mixture into few small bowl added different ingredients:

  • just banana pudding (really good as a pudding and has really nice texture frozen)
  • banana pudding+2 tbsp cacao= chocolate ice cream (same nice texture)
  • banana pudding + mashed raspberries = raspberry ice cream (took much longer to get texture as it was more liquid that just pudding. But after one day in freezer it was really nice)
  • Banana pudding + mashed raspberries + 1 tbsp cacao = raspberry chocolate ice cream or pudding. Actually it was least good, as the texture was more liquify that banana pudding and raspberries brought out the bitterness of cacao. And it tasted much more banana than the plain banana one 🙂

All in all, this is really easy recipe t make and I think we will have it often this summer in our freezer as an ice cream 🙂

Leave a Reply

