Why I work out and eat clean


I love working out, I am in no way professional but I like pushing limits of my body. Sometimes I do refer to my body as if it would be something outside me:) I say: “my body needs to work out” and it’s true. Sometimes my mind does not feel like working out, but my body is pushing me yo make at least something. I have to do some type of workout every day, even if it would be walking few kilometers. Anything counts. I do work out not because I would look hotter or more attractive ( my husband finds me beautiful all the time) but because I feel good. I always tend to have at leat two different physical activities at a time, to provide myself mental stimulation and variety. When I was a kid, I used to do swimming (5 times a week) and karate (3 times a week) so my body is used to be under pressure. Then I had period of around 8 years where I was not working out regularly, except physical education classes at school. I still would be in shape. It was not until I started getting really chubby that I decided tk stopall this and get back in shape. I got strong body, so it is a sin not to use it. I started running, swimming and my kilograms melted. Then my ex introduced me to rock climbing. It was love from the first sight. Boyfriend was gone, climbing stayed. It is amazing how much it pushes you mentally and physically – you are never strong enough. Rocks are always stronger than you. And when you think…isn’t it crazy that we climb those rocks that have been there fkr millions of years and feel sense of accomplishent when we top it. Rock doesn’t care…but we do…not just for personal accomplish, but for the connection with nature. Most of my most beautiful moments in life are related to rock climbing: travelling, exploring, being absolutely fulfilled and totally content, feeling happy to be alive and have an opportunity to feel and experience, happy to have this body that can climb, being able to enjoy sun burning my back, taking a moment to look around and enjoy beauty of nature, feeling glad that I fight my inner demons and fears, meeting most amazing people and making friends for life. Since I started to climb, I never got back into state of not working out. I also started doing capoeira (brazilian martial art). Most of the days after work I would go to climb for an hour, then head directly to capoeira for the other hour and go by bike home. After that I would feel so weak and strong at the same time. I love being able to explore possibilities of my body, to make it stronger and stronger. I could not find affordable capoeira group in quebec, so I just stuck with climbing and working out at home (bodyrock.tv and some apps). Then I discovered Crossfit, thanks to Couchsurfers from Washington. That was another love from first sight. I feel challenged every time and I love it. I never worked out with weights in my life, so it is all new to me. But climbing helps a lot: I have super strong back, forearms and fingers, great sense o balance and ability to push myself, and pain endurance ( try to climb wog shoes that are 3 size smaller or hold your body weight on 0.3cm edge and pull up), so I am doing quite great in crossfit.

Around the same time when I started crossfit I also discovered Zone Diet, while I was browsing for some recipe book. So, I decided to take a month clallenge with Zone. That was great, I eliminated gluten and changed my way of eating hy having much less carbs. I was reading a lot about nutrition and more and more I felt inclined towards paleo. I took little steps, trying to understand why we eat as we eat finally took Whole30 challenge. Just went cold turkey. It was challenging at the beginning, but I would never go back to my previous eating. I love my body and I want it to be as healthy as possible. I rlrat quality food and I can’t even think of eating something that contains sth that I can’t pronounce or that is not natural. I want to be able to climb when I will be 70, I want my children to be healthy and I love to be in charge of what I eat and how I look. There is no greater feeling as feeling healthy and strong. It requires effort and is not always easy, but what is? In order to be happy we have to work to achieve it, it is a process and it requires effort, but show me a person who doesn’t want to be happy and healthy, just not everyone is ready to work for it. But this is personal choice and responsibility for your own life and way of living.

Leave a Reply

