WOD of 28th July – 1st August


So, last month of August started and I have been working out hard, though feeling that not as good as I could do. I feel that I somehow do not reach my potential and it is kind of frustrating. As usually, I do go to CF 3 times a week and I also try to do workouts from “Give them cold steel” either at home or in the gym. I liked Saturday’s Workout, because it was of 3 parts and AMRAP of 8mins.

AMRAP1:

  • 15 shoulders to overhead (75lbs)
  • 30 push ups
  • Result – 2+22rounds

AMRAP2:

  • 5 deadlifts (205lbs)
  • 60m broad jump (killer 🙂 )
  • Result – 3+5 rounds

AMRAP3

  • 15 KB swing (53lbs)
  • 30 V-sits
  • Result – 4+6 rounds

I was glad that I don’t come to the first classes of the day, because then I can see what others have done and what I have to beat. And I am glad when there are results of some strong girls, because then my goal is to beat. So, I had one girl in mind making Saturdays WOD and then I took my Monday class at the same time when she had, because I wanted to know with whom I am competing and to have a “live” competition.

So, Monday we had again 3 AMRAP, just this time 10mins each.

AMRAP1:

  • 5 box jumps (26″)
  • 10 push jerks (75lbs) (I have to confess that this was the only AMRAP that I made lighter weight that my “competitor” 🙂 I loaded 95lbs, but I don’t know why I was not even able to make a clean with this weight, probably had some fatique from weekend training, so had to go down on weights.
  • Result: 6+30 rounds

AMRAP2:

  • 15 knee squats
  • 15 pull ups
  • Result: 3+22 rounds (plus totally torn hands)

AMRAP3:

  • 30 KB SDHP (53lbs) (kettlebell sumo deadlift high pull)
  • 15 knees to bar
  • Result: 3+7 rounds

So, I managed to make all AMRAPS faster than the girl I was competing with, but I was never far in front and it is amazing feeling to have someone all the time breathing in your neck.

Today I decided to go hard and make two workouts, basically one after the other. It was hard, not only physically, but also psychologically, because second part I was making all by myself and it is really much more harder to push yourself being alone than being in a group. Simply the sight of others also working hard helps a lot. I also regretted for my first part that I have had “Avocado Devilled Eggs” for breakfast, it was not smart idea, especially because it was loads of cardio and I was feeling really heavy.

However, todays training had two WODs, one classical benchmark WOD (yuppie) and the other time challenge.

WOD1 – Fight gone bad

Five exercises, performed for one minute each, with one-minute breaks given after all exercises have been completed. This grueling five-station rotation is then repeated three times per person. You count total of reps, except rowing, where calories are counted.

  • Wallballs – 16lbs
  • SDHP (Sumo-Deadlift-High-Pull) – 45 lbs
  • box jump – 20″
  • Push Press – 45 lbs
  • row

Result: 330.  I have so much more to improve with this one. Hardest part was wall balls, because I really felt those eggs being a bit upset in my stomach 🙂

WOD2:

  • 400m. run
  • 40 release push ups
  • 20 abdos
  • 400m run
  • 30 release push-ups
  • 30 abdos
  • 400m. run
  • 20 release push ups
  • 40 abdos

Result: 11:27min. 

Then I took little break of 10-15mins. and made this workout of 3 parts:

6 rounds;

  • 2 Hang Power Cleans
  • 2 Power Cleans
  • 2 Cleans [squat]

rest 120secs between rounds

*no re-gripping on ground

Result: 95-95-105-105-110-115lbs. As Saturday I was not able to make clean to the shoulders to start doing press jerk I was a bit worried when started doing this WOD. But Saturday was Saturday and today is a new day. 95lbs were really light weight and I had no struggle at all with this weight. So, I kept adding little by little weights, so that I would be sure to lift them 😛

B]

For time;

Result: 16:59mins. My hands got ripped off again and there is nothing to be done about it.

C]

Result: no time, but lots of frustration. At around 75 double unders I was so exhausted and 200 seemed so far away that I almost started crying. I had to fight with myself to keep going, because I suck at double unders, because I was really tired, because I could not make more than 10 in a row without tripping. But little by little the number got bigger and I finished this WOD. It took me longer to make C part than to make B part, but I did finished it and then I could tap my shoulder for fighting until the end 🙂 I think todays training  pushed a lot my endurance and I will feel results later.

Leave a Reply

