WODs “6×6” and “Tears of a Spider Monkey”


In my Crossfit class today I was alone. It kind of sucks…why? Because I already train alone when I do Outlaw training, so it is nice to have 3 times a week with whom to compete with and being alone is not pushing enough, especially knowing that I will have to do another training afterwards.

However, today there was a skill part that concentrated of OHS: 6x5reps@max. Yey….Remember when I wrote that I would like to get to 100#, so guess what? I got 110#, made two rounds with 50kg/110lbs. If it would have been 1rep@max, would have even got higher, but still very happy with result. Just few weeks in a Crossfit class WOD I could not make 85# OHS and now got 110#. That is a huge step forward. However, I could not snatch that weight, used racks to get on shoulders and then back push pressed. After more that a week of Outlaw snatches and cleans I my shoulder power is totally exhausted.

The WOD that I did after OHS I called “6×6” and it was time challenge:

6 rounds of:

  • 6 power cleans @95# (though made first round 110#)
  • 6 push jerks @95# (that is when I switched from 110# to 95# cause just could not jerk properly, totally ridiculous shape, though 95# went easily)
  • 30m. KB waiter walk (Left) @35#
  • 30m. KB waiter walk (right) @35#
  • 6 snatch deadlift@95#  (this really helped to concentrate on keeping back perfectly straight)
  • 6 slamballs @10kg
  • RESULT:20:24min.

After this WOD, I took little rest, ate apple to get some carbs to refuel myself and some crunch bars that I took from home and obviously made myself. Then, I decided to make strength workout from Outlaw which was:

EMOM for 7 minutes:

2 1 1/4 Front Squats @ 75%. As my max. front squat is 145#, 75% was 110#. Isn’t it funny that everything today goes around same number: 110# 🙂

I was also supposed to test my max. snatch and clean and jerk, but I decided not to do that. First of all, did not feel fresh, second, because my jerk anyways sucks and I know that I would be weaker than I would like to be and it would just make me frustrated. So, skipped that part and decided to make conditioning part later today, which happened to be 10p.m. and I made it at home. The most gruesome part is that this WOD looks really innocent and easy to tackle, but after reading all the comments, I saw that it won’t be peace of cake and actually I was all in sweat after finishing it….There is no need for sauna 😀 And after taking shower my knees were burning…probably 140 OHS makes gives pretty damn pressure on knees and I start wishing to have Oly shoes instead of minimalist running shoes for this type of WODs.

So….“Tears of a Spider Monkey

Refer to 120114

7 rounds for time of:

20 Push Press @ 75/55lbs
20 OHS @ 75/55lbs

It took me 26:17min. to complete it. I am sure I could have completed it faster, but I decided to break it into 10s so that I would not feel weak in  the middle and it paid of. I did not have to break up in smaller parts and always managed to have 10reps. unbroken, but my shoulder were burning and my left hand thumb got numb after 4 rounds while making OHS. no idea why though…Maybe I am pressing so nerve or something like that.

Overall, it was nice day of training. Tomorrow I am resting!

Leave a Reply

